Tuesday, November 22, 2011

The ESU IDT Dynasty Continues!

ESU Instructional Design and Technology (IDT) master of science students Michael Stewart and Jason Baker were selected as one of three winning teams in the PacifiCorp international design and development competition, sponsored by Pacific Power and the Association for Educational Communications and Technology. With the other two finalist teams, Stewart and Baker presented their winning instructional design and development solution at the November AECT 2011 International Convention in Jacksonville, FL.

The PacifiCorp design and development competition involves having teams of two students design and develop a detailed written solution and oral report in response to a quite complex instructional design case study.  During the year-long competition, twelve teams competed in the first round of the competition and 6 teams moved forward to the second round, with three teams being selected as winning finalists.  ESU IDT teams have achieved winning finalist status in 4 out of the last 5 years of the competition.

Some history:
2007 - ESU IDT's first team, Sandy Valenti and Steve Harmon - winning finalist team
2009 - ESU IDT team, Liz Ermis and Jennifer Gibson - winning finalist team
2010 - ESU IDT team, Michael Schwind and Rob Ervin - winning finalist team
2011 - ESU IDT team, Jason Baker and Michael Stewart - winning finalist team

All of the ESU IDT faculty and over 15 IDT students and alumni attended the convention in Jacksonville, FL to cheer them on.

No comments: