Saturday, February 22, 2014

ESU IDT Team Presents Winning Instructional Design Solution at International Competition

Anaheim, CA – For the 5th consecutive year, a team from Emporia State University’s Instructional Design and Technology (IDT) master of science program was chosen as a finalist in the PacifiCorp International Design and Development Competition, sponsored by Pacific Power and the Association for Educational Communications and Technology (AECT).  The IDT team of Ziang Wang and Yun Lauren Liu (L/R in photo) presented their winning instructional design and development solution at the AECT 2013 International Convention in Anaheim, CA. The 2013 PacifiCorp design and development competition involved having teams of two students design and develop a detailed written solution and oral report in response to a complex instructional design case study.  During the year-long competition, over one dozen international doctoral and master’s degree teams competed in the first round of the competition with 6 teams moving forward to the second round. Three teams were selected as winning finalists and invited to present their solutions at the AECT convention.  ESU IDT teams have achieved finalist status 5 years in a row (6 out of the last 7 years of the competition). As the most recognized association of information concerning a wide range of instructional and educational technology, AECT is the oldest professional home for this field of interest and has continuously maintained a central position in the field, promoting high standards, both in scholarship and in practice.  It provides an international forum for the exchange and dissemination of ideas for its members and for target audiences; it is the national and international spokesperson for the improvement of instruction. 

Recent ESU IDT history in the competition:
2007 - Sandy Valenti and Steve Harmon -  finalists
2009 - Liz Ermis and Jennifer Gibson - finalists
2010 - Michael Schwind and Rob Ervin - finalists
2011 - Jason Baker and Michael Stewart - finalists
2012 – Qing Zhang and Daniel BaldwinSeung Gutsch and Daphne Tseng – finalists
2013 – Ziang Wang and Yun Lauren Liu – finalists

1 comment:

George said...

I was there and saw your presentation. Enjoyed it! George